I spent my evening last night at the Denver Center for Performing Arts to see the show “Wicked.” It’s quite possibly the best show I’ve ever seen! And I had the unique opportunity to see it twice!

I went last night with my friend, The Lawyer, who had never seen a live musical before– quite the travesty since he’s 32 years old! However, it was really fun to be there with someone who had never experienced the wonder and amazement of quality live theater. I’ve been going to plays for as long as I remember– my family and my BFF’s family saw the play “The Frog Prince” at least a half a dozen times when it was at the Arvada Center when I was about 10 years old… and we still quote a line or two from it to this day- “pass the peas please, thank you!”

I actually dated The Lawyer a while ago, right before things started to happen with Funny Man, but I just didn’t feel any chemistry. I was actually really disappointed about that because he and I are so similar– he likes to cook, we have similar tastes in restaurants, movies, music and I feel relaxed and comfortable around him. But no romantic spark… sigh…

But we have become really good friends, and even talk about other dates we go on with each other– which I consider the true test of a male/female friendship– being able to talk about dating other people with them. And because we’re so similar, we have been able to enjoy a lot of random things together. We’re even compiling a list of restaurants we’ve been wanting to try to go to together.

Last night was one of those nights! He wanted to go see “Wicked” and he asked me to come with him. Oh, twist my arm, I guess I’ll go see it again. We decided to get dressed up to go to the theater– the only way to go, in my opinion. I donned one of my homecoming dresses from high school and he wore a really sharp suit and we had a night on the town.

It was so refreshing to be able to go out and enjoy a good meal (I paid since he paid for the tickets to the play) and a show with a male companion and not have to worry about the romantic implications of everything. I was able to relax and laugh and enjoy myself without worrying about what he thought of me, or trying to be the “perfect” date and, in turn, making myself anxious or nervous.

One of the best nights I’ve had in a while!

And because I was looking super cute, and I got permission to post this pic, I want to share it with you:

We totally won the Best Dressed award!

Wow, all that’s missing is a corsage and boutonniere and we’d be at prom.