When I ask the above question, I’m not asking if he’s loaded and lives in a gigantic house. I mean, that wouldn’t be bad, but what I really mean is, “is my first impression of you accurate?”

I was chatting with The Lawyer yesterday about a date I have tonight. I met a guy at an industry happy hour last week and after some texts and emails back and forth, we planned to go out for drinks after work tonight.

As I was explaining my thoughts about going on the date, I told The Lawyer that I was excited (because I strangely like first dates) but I was also hesitant because my first impression of the guy when I saw him was “wow, he looks like a douche.” He’s kinda cute but how he carried himself just gave off that vibe. And because of that, The Lawyer asked if he could call him the “Visual Douche”… and I’ll call him VD for now– hopefully he changes that perception.

As VD and I chatted briefly at the happy hour, and what I can remember from it since I was 3 drinks in and asked him where he went to school at least 2 or 3 times (and that was even worse because he went to the college literally around the corner from my house), he seemed like an engaging person and was pretty dynamic.

So it got me thinking about first impressions. I’m interested to see if after our date this guy can be considered a Mr. Darcy– the misunderstood, but totally awesome suitor– or Mr. Collins– the obnoxious, no one wants to be around him suitor. (And if you don’t understand those references, go and read (or watch) “Pride and Prejudice.”)

I’m hoping my first impression of VD is wrong and something happens between us, even if it’s just for a little while. But I learned the hard way with Voldemort that my first impressions/instincts are pretty spot-on in the long run.

So fingers crossed that my date tonight turns out to be a Mr. Darcy.

Regardless of who I end up with, I do want to be looked at like this:

Be still my heart!

