You know the saying “you’ll regret the things you didn’t do more than the things you did”?

I think that applies to dating (or romantic relationships in general) more than anything else.

Recently, The Roommate and I have had more than one discussion about wanting to date a particular someone “just because we have to know.”

We have to know what it would be like, what it would feel like, and where it will go.

Sometimes it can be solved with a simple kiss, a single date, and sometimes the only thing that will answer it is full-fledged dating.

My go-to example is that there a guy who I knew in high school and remained close friends all through college, who I still regret not kissing– just to see what it would be like. He is/was quite the ladies man, so I assume(d) he’d make it worth my while… but I chickened out when the opportunity arose. So he’ll forever be “the hot guy I was just friends with.” (Although the rise in my social standing being friends with him is undeniable…)

When those desires rear their heads, it’s hard to think of little else. “What if” constantly plays through my head and daydreams of a first date get themselves carried away and all of a sudden I find myself daydreaming of my wedding with said groom-to-be.

More importantly, there is no real desire for anyone else. As much as I hate to admit it, I’m waiting on Funny Man to get his shit together by the end of the month so we can take our “what if/take-two” to it’s appropriate level and actually date each other. To quote Gigi in He’s Just Not That Into You (I told you, this movie is my life…), “It’s hard to focus on nutmeg when the guy who might be the guy of my dreams refuses to call me.”

I’m a strong believer in fate (possibly to my detriment), so that quote resonates with me on an incredibly deep level. I can easily write someone off as “not meant to be” but when I have this relentless desire to know “what if,” it’s a lot harder to move on.

My impatient instinct is to try to write him off, citing the fact that he has been a neglectful friend. But that’s unfair because the reason I’m having to wait is because he knew he’d be neglectful until the end of March and asked me to wait. humph

I guess this is just me venting about the fact that I hate waiting and I wish it was the end of March so we could get the “what if” answered once and for all.

