I realized I’m half way though the month and I should let you know how my 30-day challenge is going. Well, if you read the title of this post, you can probably guess.

Oh my gosh- Not eating meat is really hard!

I eat it without even thinking about it. Laugh all you want, but it’s totally true! Just as The Roommate!

My first major slip-up was at a friend’s housewarming party the first weekend I started the challenge. They had all your typical finger-food and appetizer-type food– dips, veggie trays, etc. One thing they also had was ribs. When I was making my way though the line of food, I grabbed a couple. I was actually excited to try them since my friend and I have an ongoing rib-cooking debate (rub vs. sauce, bake vs. grill vs. smoke…). I ate everything on my plate, wiped my mouth from the ribs and as I set my napkin down, I realized what I had just done. dun dun dun I shook my head in disbelief and laughed to myself! I hadn’t even thought about that I couldn’t have them. I just ate them. And come to find out, this wouldn’t be the last time I did it either.

I ate shrimp at my sister’s house– I’d even showed coworkers the recipe she was making, never clueing into the fact that I was talking about seafood…

I ate lunch consisting of Costco samples the other day and ate a steak burrito and a chicken taquito, never blinking at the ingredients…

I think I’ve managed to consciously NOT eat meat, like, 4 times since I’ve started this challenge. Some things are easy– cheese pizza (I’m boring like that), cheese ravioli, etc.

But I did try tofu for the first time. YUCK! You guys, it’s all spongy and squishy and weird-colored. I got a giant bowl of green curry from a street cart by my office and I took one bite of tofu and meticulously ate a few more bites of the curry, deliberately avoiding any more tofu.

This challenge has been hard (when I remember I’m doing a challenge)! But it has opened my eyes to how not vegetarian-friendly most menus and restaurants are. If I were to become a vegetarian for whatever reason (hahahahaha), I would have a really hard time going out to eat and finding something other than a salad to eat for lunch or dinner.

But I’m trekking on. I’ll continue to try to do this challenge and eat new things and try new recipes. But I think I’ll be really tired of pizza and pasta by the end of this… I’m already kinda tired of pizza, which is saying a lot because I LOVE pizza!

What about you? Have any of you tried to do something and the effort was not worth the sacrifice? Or even better, done something challenging and it turned out amazing? Do tell!

