Now we’re getting all sentimental! Unfortunately (or I guess it would be fortunately), I have so many people who have meant so much to me in my life that I can’t choose just one. So I’ll make a general umbrella for the group of people who showed me what true love and compassion really looks like.

A year ago, I planned a party to celebrate my divorce being final, but more importantly, to celebrate the people who had stuck by me and showed me true love and friendship during the darkest and hardest time of my life. It was the most amazing, meaningful party I’ve ever planned. When I made a toast to everyone, I started crying– the overwhelming emotion of their love overtook me!

The people who were invited to the party were people who never showed me an ounce of judgment or disdain over what had happened in my life. Actually, they did the exact opposite. They came up next to me and told me that I was doing what was best for me and I was making a hard (but the right) decision. When I was crumpled on the floor in complete despair and frustration, my family was there to pick me up and hold me up as my life completely fell apart. My friends were there to help support me and process through everything that had happened. And I had other friends who showed me what life would now be like without my ex holding me back.

I learned how to love others, and how truly help someone out of a dark place by just being there and standing beside them when everything else seems hopeless. I want to carry on what people have shown to me to those I meet along the way who need someone there to just be there and tell them everything will be alright.

I love my friends and my family, and I don’t know how I would have gotten through last summer without all of them!

