I’m glad this topic is not so debby-downer. I easily get sucked into negative thinking, so it’ll be a good practice to realize the parts of myself that I love.

When I first saw this day’s topic, my first thought was “my compassion,” so I’ll stick with that for this post. I really do love and care for people. I know it’s a lot of thanks to my parents who have always had an open mind about people and passed that down to my sister and me. I’ve been around families where racism, superiority, and ethnocentrism (ooh! look at me using big words!) are part of the family’s very core. It’s ugly and brings nothing positive into the world. I’m sure my background in human development and family studies (hdfs) contributed to the way I view people as well. I can’t tell you how many times we talked about alternate views and lifestyles in my classes– noting that none of them is better or worse than another, just different– whether it was homo- versus heterosexual relationships, how people raised their kids, what kind of “open” relationship people have, their fighting styles,. etc.

I want to help people and love people for who they are in their core, hence why I was an hdfs student (to be a counselor). I want people to have the best life possible! I want to help them when I can, whether it’s by befriending someone, voting a certain way, or giving financially to an organizion that can help those in need better their lives.

I consider myself pretty open-minded, so when people are discriminatory– whether it be homophobic, racist, elitist, etc.– it actually breaks my heart. I feel the pain and frustration of the people being talked about/treated poorly because I end up putting myself in their shoes and it feels totally crummy! I want everyone to get along and to be able to live their lives to the fullest, so when people think their ideas or their lives are better than others just because of their race, money, sexual attraction, it infuriates me.

I always root for the underdog, and want to help those who are at the bottom– women, children, glbt people, disabled people, etc. My heart goes out to those who are seen as less, usually because of something that they have absolutely no control over.

I love people! Why can’t we all just get along?

